Skip to content

Should I Move In With This Guy?

March 6, 2011
by

So last week I was doing my daily Craig’s List search for a place to potentially move into in the Cambridge/Somerville area when I came across this post:

At first I was like, “no way.” But I’ve been thinking about it some more, and I’m starting to think it could (potentially) be cool.

First of all, Victorians are sweet. Also, looks like it has great access to the T and Davis Square, which has a bunch of awesome restaurants.

And then the whole “clothing optional” thing—yeah it’s kind of creepy, but then I got to thinking, and I am sort of used to it; my roommate sophomore year of college, the legendary frisbee god Mark Sherwood, spent hours watching Stargate in the nude. Plus, there would be something rather liberating about it—after all, what’s the point of being shackled by heavy clothing in order to fit snugly into a societal norm that demands we wear clothes, even when alone, in a stuffy Victorian living room on a scorching July afternoon. I’ll take nudity over a sweaty, smelly grundle any day of the week.

You could finally, for once, just breathe.

On the other hand, whoever posted this left off some pretty important details. While “left leaning” and “artist” are nice little nuggets of information, it’d be great to know, oh, I don’t know, the age of the interested party. Because for every left-leaning, slim, mid-twenties artist, there are ten obese, smelly, fifty-five-year-old, left-leaning activist-artists, sixties children that have been chewed up and spit out from one generation to the next, and now find themselves festering, alone and naked, in big Victorian houses, stroking their organic-cornflake-crusted beards as they shake their collective fists at the world.

If that’s the case, count me out.

So what you think? Should I reply to this ad?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

